all is right with my world

Sixteen years ago, I was pregnant for the first time.  At my five month check-up the nurse prepared my tummy with slippery jelly and ran the heart-rate monitor up and down, side to side, but we couldn’t hear my baby’s heart.  She dashed out of the room in a flurry, and my universe tipped upside down.  For a moment in time I felt hollowed out and empty.

A second nurse emerged, picked up the monitor, and within seconds we heard the chug, chug, chug of my precious cargo’s heart.  All was right with the world.

In my forty-three years, I have had my life reverse course several times.  On a few of those occasions, I received the very worst news, but more often than not, the worst never came.

Four days ago, I had a routine mammogram.  On Friday I received a phone call that the radiologist had found an “area of concern” and more test were needed to rule out breast cancer.  My universe tipped. My course halted.

For days I have been attempting to convince myself that I was fine, that the chances of serious disease were slim.  Yet, despite my positive thinking, my mind wandered back to a vision of myself bald with one boob, on the brink of the worst.

I had my second round of tests this morning, and I do not have breast cancer, no lumps, no bumps, no tumorous growths.  I am going to spend the afternoon unpacking my gratitude and thanking each and every one of my lucky stars.  I am going to breathe, and smile, and hug my kids.  All is right with my world today.

6 thoughts on “all is right with my world

  1. Carol Blanusa says:

    Kate! Great news

    I have loved reading your blog!

  2. twofelines says:

    So glad everything is OK.

  3. Cheers to your boobs 🙂 Glad you can breathe easy.

  4. […] my older kids got home from school yesterday, I told them about the mammogram I had on Thursday, about the subsequent call Friday telling me I needed further tests, and about my second round of […]

Leave a Reply

