lucky

Years ago I had a student named Stacy.  Stacy was a quirky loaner who had trouble navigating the high school social system.  One day she came to me and said, “I’ve decided to change my name.  From now on, I would like you to call me Lucky.”

I hesitated to do as she asked.  After all, if I called her Lucky in front of the class, students would make fun of her.  Then again, kids were making fun of Stacy long before she proclaimed herself Lucky, so I granted her request for the rest of the year.

Months later she approached me.  “I asked all my teachers to change my name,” she said.  “But you were the only one who actually did.”

“Well,” I said.  “I think each of us has the right to define ourselves however we want, and you helped remind me of that.”

Perhaps defining and redefining ourselves as we see fit is what makes us all lucky!

3 thoughts on “lucky

  1. From now on, you can call me Princess Alexandria 🙂

  2. Caryn says:

    Thankfully we can redefine ourselves…and its never too late. Some say God created us in His image….I say if He did, that’s where we got our ability to re-create ourselves. Pretty cool to be free to do that!

Leave a Reply

